Another Dark Night?

Greetings :)

It is highly recommended (by yours truly :P) that you read this short post before you continue reading this one.

Welcome back! :)

That short story (or as a friend with a wider vocabulary aptly pointed out, a vignette) was first published online on the now-defunct website, HPANA. Most responses were variants of “I really want to know what happens next” or “It is incomplete!”. I respectfully disagree(d) with the later comments. I really do believe it, in itself, is a complete story.

But, I too really want to know what happens next. Sadly, I seem to have lost the little ability I had to write fiction. In fact, One Dark Night is my only completed work of fiction till date, not counting some answer papers in my undergrad examinations, that I can recall. I don’t know why, I *want* to write fiction, I seemingly can’t.

And that is precisely the point of this post – perhaps you could tell me (us) what happens next. Write a vignette, short story, novella or even a poem as a sequel to One Dark Night. You can post it on your blog and send me the link through the comments. I have tagged this post as a Challenge only, *only* to ensure that the post reaches a wider audience. It is not a challenge as it is not a contest, it is an open invitation. There will be no winners. Links to ALL sequels will be posted here :) I (we) are really curious to know what a sequel to this can be like.

If you do not have a blog, Bleh will be glad to host you as a Guest Author. If you do have a blog, and for any reason you do not want to post it there, my e-mail will be available on request :)

Although I’m not setting any constraints (It is a Really Open Invitation :P), it might be nice if the no names ‘meme’ is continued. Also, as the two protagonists are the only two fictional characters I’ve created, it would be much appreciated if neither are killed, or ‘harmed’.

That’s it. I hope this post and the vignette inspires at least one person to write :) Please do share with anyone you think may want to give this a try.

– One Hit Wonder Felix S

If there’s a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it ~ Toni Morrison

I don’t know about doing a sequel. I think you can retroactively damage a product by adding to it ~ Simon Pegg (That’s okay! I(We) are willing to take that risk! ;) :) )


4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Interesting possibility to ponder, thanks…I’ll admit when I first clicked on here I was expecting a write up on the sequel movie coming out soon: Dark Knight Rises…I’m hoping it will be a good one…a little better than the first one hopefully, although it was not too bad.
    Thanks

    Like

    • Oh I’m sorry to have disappointed you! I haven’t seen the two movies to which ‘The Dark Knight Rises’ is a sequel. I do plan on watching both ‘Batman Begins’ and ‘The Dark Knight’ before I watch the ‘finals’, perhaps at the cinemas, if I like them. I’ve been wanting to watch them for a long time despite not being a fan of superhero movies, since I loved ‘The Prestige’ (#2 in my favourites list) and ‘Inception’ by Christopher Nolan.

      Like

  2. Hey as a vignette, I think the previous post was pretty complete. Anyway, now that you have given an open invitation will give it a try. Might take some time though more so with a short story.

    “I didn’t have time to write a short letter, so I’ve written a long one instead.” – attributed to Blaise Pascal, Mark Twain, and Voltaire

    :)

    Like

    • Thank you!

      I know! Being concise is sometimes difficult. I recently had to cut down a scholarship application from the original 1600 words to 400. Not much fun :P But it did make me realise how much I make my posts/articles unnecessarily long.

      Like

What do you think?

