Did You Hear That?! – 1

Greetings! :)

Have you ever had an urge to share something with the world but it’s too big for a Facebook update or a tweet and too small or insignifcant for a blog post of it’s own? I do, again and again! And this – the Did You Hear That?! series – is my answer to that urge. Collect all those tid-bits and put them in a post. Ingenious, no? :P *Pats Self*

Here are the first five Did You Hear That?!s :)

1. “No Indians were harmed in the making of this video”
This quote by the much adorable Gupta was the last line of the only season of Outsourced. The finale aired a week ago here and this has been one of my favourite-est shows ever – along with Akkara Kazhchakal, Modern Family, The Middle and Parks and Recreation. There are many, many negative reviews for the show online, most of them labelling the show as Racist. Yes, the first episodes stuck to the stereotypical cow-on-road, turban, crazy-traffic jokes. But over the course of the 22 episodes, the show did transcend those stereotypes and developed into a fun, adorable show. I’ve grown to fall in love with the cast; So difficult to pick a favourite. I think I like Manmeet and Charlie a tad above the rest. Madhuri singing Eternal Flame is my pick for the best moment of the show. I couldn’t find that video online, so I share the best of what I could find :)

2. “I’m not as intelligent as I look.. I’m actually a super-genius!”
Earlier today, my 12 year old neighbour came over for help with his homework. After history, we moved on to Biology. I, unintentionally, gave a surprised look, just for a second, when he knew more about the human respiratory system than I expected him to know. He caught that look and said in jest “I am not as dumb as I look okay”.  I replied “Oh no. You don’t ‘look dumb’. You look smart”. “Oh I know. I’m not as intelligent as I look.. I’m actually a super-genius!” xD Oh what would one give for the brash confidence of an innocent kid! :)

I also happened to rediscover my love for history as I went through his textbook. I used to love history in school. It was my favourite subject in school. I am fascinated by people and places and things that happened hundreds of years ago.

3. ‘Fly from Mumbai to Jammu at the lowest airfares*’
The internet creeps me out sometimes. About a week ago, I ran a Google search – once, just once – about flights between Mumbai and Jammu. Ever since then, every other page is bombarding me with ads to fly from Mumbai to Jammu. The next day, it was almost as if the Mighty Interwebs sensed I wasn’t responding to any of the ads. An all-out attack followed xD

It still continues to this day..
:P

Miracula
Miracula. (Image: TrivandrumBuzz.com)

4. Miracula

Human (insane) creativity sometimes makes you want to stand up and bow down to the creator of awesome stuff; Awesome stuff like Miracula. What would you call a magician’s TV show if his on-screen persona is that of a Dracula? Miracula.

Tehehehe. I find that insanely funny. And wonderful. Do you? :)

5. “Put it down, Bella. We mustn’t touch what isn’t ours.”
What. A. Quote. That was said by Severus Snape to Bellatrix Lestrange in Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, 15 minutes into the movie. It isn’t said in the book. When I was watching the movie and came across that scene, my heart melted.. just melted.

The Context: [Spoiler Alert] Narcissa and Bella meet Snape at his home as ‘Cissa is worried about Draco’s safety after The Dark Lord orders Draco to commit a murder. ‘Cissa wants Snape to make the Unbreakable Vow over Draco’s protection. As Snape and Narcissa engage in that conversation, Bella wanders over to Snape’s fireplace and picks up a circular glass object. And then Put it down, Bella. We mustn’t touch what isn’t ours was said.

There was just something about the way Snape said it and Bella reacted that made my heart go the way Amelie <7 goes down.

It could be because Snape and Bella are my two favourite characters, or it could be the hyper-active imagination of a Potter Obsessed teen (Whenever I think, read or watch Harry Potter, I’m #ForerverSixteen =P), I could sense sibling-ness between the two – love; Snape saying it like a loving older brother chastising his younger sister for doing something wrong. Bella’s reaction – putting the object down with disdain and raising the hand -, a reaction one gives their annoying older sibling..

You *have* to watch it to understand what I’m trying to say, especially because I’m a terrible writer! :)

That’s all for now. I’ll be back with more nonsensical tidbits later :)

Our customers need soothing music, like Taylor Swift or that Justin Bieber kid. Basically anything that sounds like a pretty white girl, okay? ~ Jerry, Outsourced

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. <3 :D *claps* My fav one was the one with you n that kiddo :P

    Like

  2. Good ones! I didnt know all those!

    Like

  3. I stopped by to say thank you for taking the time to look at my “Distorted” photo and click “like.” Your site looks extremely interesting. I really like this idea of combining a lot of “odds and end” into one post. Of course, as wordy as I am, I’d probably not be able to do it successfully. I’d end up writing a whole page or two about the first subject and then I just have an “ordinary” blog. You have inspired me, though, so I may try it.

    My nephew and his family (wife and three small children) just spent 6 months in your home country. He was in Chennai to do research on a Fulbright scholarship. He teaches at a university here in the states. Their children were just 5 yrs, 2 yrs.,and 6 months old, and I think the thing that impressed my nephew and his wife the most while they were there was how much the Indian people loved their children.
    Thanks again, and may the Lord make HIs face to shine on you today!

    P. S. You are not a terrible writer. Your words flow and hold the interest of your reader.

    Like

    • You have inspired me is amongst the most beautiful things one can hear. You are too kind :)

      Aw.. I haven’t been out of the country, so I don’t have much of an exposure about the your part of the world, apart from through television and the internet. Everyone loves their kids. Perhaps Indian parents are more expressive at it :)

      I refer to myself as a ‘terrible writer’ when I cannot do justice to the images in my head or my words are not a true representation of my feelings – i.e., my words fail me. That defeats the whole purpose of writing, and that is when I feel like an awful writer.

      I think this quote from an earlier post when I faced such a situation explains it well –

      Every creator painfully experiences the chasm between his inner vision and its ultimate expression. The chasm is never completely bridged. We all have the conviction, perhaps illusory, that we have much more to say than appears on the paper ~ Isaac Bashevis Singer

      Thank you, again :)

      Like

      • I like that quote too. And I understand what you mean.

        About the children: I was “not a very good writer” when I said that because what I meant to say was that my nephew and his wife were so blessed by how much the Indian people loved my great nieces and nephews. They were always so kind to them and always wanted to hold them and communicate with them.

        They all had an interesting experience when they returned to the states. Their stay over their covered my little niece’s life from the time she was barely 6 months old to after her first birthday. So during all those formative months, the only white skinned people she saw were her mom, dad, and two brothers. All the other people who surrounded her throughout their many activities were the naturally dark-skinned citizens of your country. She eagerly went into their arms and played with them happily. When they got back to the states, and she was suddenly surrounded by almost all white-skinned people, she had a little bit of a problem adjusting and freely going into their arms when they wanted to hold her. It took about a week of clinging to mommy and daddy before she seemed to get comfortable with the change. The two-year old, as well, had to get totally re-acclimated to several things about their lives here. My nephew made the statement that for all intents and purposes, those two of his children, in their own little minds, were more citizens of India than of the U. S., and felt like visitors in their own hometown for some time.

        I thought how powerfully that drives home the fact that neither skin color, education, ethnic background, nor cultural style can change the fact that we are all human beings, and that fact in itself is a great equalizer. It’s really all about who and what we CHOOSE to open our hearts to that determines the relationships and the love we have in our lives. Hope that makes sense.

        Like

  4. Oh I assumed ‘their’ was referring to ‘Indians’.

    That is wonderful! It deserves to be a post on your blog (if it isn’t already) :)

    Like

What do you think?

