catching myself

Greetings :)

We step into lent tomorrow, with Ash Monday, and I’ve decided to give up Twitter – in addition to the usual red meat – this time. Earlier today, out of curiosity, I ran a Google search for Giving Up Twitter for Lent and realised it was a practice on the rise. I also found articles arguing for and (surprisingly) against giving up social networking during lent. This article says everything I wanted to write, so I thought it best if I reblogged this, rather than writing a new post :)

..One of the things I find hard is to cut the electronic umbilical cord, and be offline. I have just passed the point where I have spent more than half of my life online… sending data for work; participating in online community; making “real-world” friends that I first met by using a keyboard. It’s great, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes I need a more solitary and tactile existence.. Farai, Farai.com
At one time I smoked, but in 1959 I couldn’t think of anything else to give up for Lent so I stopped-and I haven’t had a cigarette since ~ Ethel Merman
2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Ah, what’s the connection between giving up something and Lent? Ignore my ignorance.

    Like

What do you think?

