Work 1.0, Bunstel 2.0

Greetings! :)

Time for the typical How-Working-For-The-First-Time is Post! =P

My feelings about work swing wildly. It is weird how the same things appear so drastically different at different times! Kinda like this ▼ xD

Okay, #Fail Analogy :P We’ll get back to Work 1.0 shortly. Let’s talk about Bunstel 2.0.

You’d know about Bunstel if you are a regular ‘Bleh’ reader. Sadly, such things don’t exist :P So again,

Bunstel = Bungalow + Hostel :P It started off as a twitter term I used to refer to where half of us are put up during the weekdays. Now it’s stuck; I call it Bunstel all the time xD It is a two floor 3BHK house and it’s my first experience of a Hostel Life. :)

That was during my stay at the Academy. I still stay away from home, closer to my workplace. Meet Bunstel 2.0 – It’s an upgraded, drastically different, 5BHK PG version of Bunstel 1.0. The place is huge is an understatement. My bedroom here is bigger than the living room back home 0_0 I’m not sure if it’s the size of the room, the size of the TV or my poor eyesight, but I have trouble reading the subtitles on TV from my bed! :P (Bunstel 1.0 had one TV, 2.0 has a TV in every bedroom! xD )

This much of the post has been sitting in my Drafts folder since 01 September 2011. Today is 30 October 2011. I’m mentioning the year too, because, at this rate, I’m not sure when I can finish this post! =P

Over the two months at Bunstel 2.0, I’ve had four roommates. There was this moderately-old man who had a weird fondness for minimalistic clothing inside the room :\ My three current roommates are way less of a strain on the eye :P We are all roughly of the same age. One Civil Engineer, One Electrical Engineer, One MBA guy, One Sales Guy; We’ve got most of the career spheres covered! =P I mostly leave the room in the morning before any of them wake up (which is not that bad, really. The bathroom is shared.. no? ;) :P ) and return after all of them are back. I could write a lot about The Three Bunsketeers :P I’ll leave that for another post :)

Foggy Mornings + Warm/Hot Afternoons + Cold Nights = None of the Five Engineers have Proper Voices :)
Foggy Mornings + Warm/Hot Afternoons + Cold Nights = None of the Five Engineers have Proper Voices :)

Work – Work is Wow-Bleh. (Heh. Yes, I should get an honorary doctorate in Adjective-Invention :P Related. ) Mostly it is Wow, I love my job. Sometimes it is I vow to quit soon :P Most wow-bits occur when I am doing things on my own. For the first couple of weeks at work, we (Two other fresh engineers and I who joined at the same time) were asked to stick around experienced engineers. My first independent assignment was re-routing of a storm-water channel around the site. (Two months later, the channel is still stable. I consider it a success =P xDb

Working in the rain is fun. Especially because of all the #Potter-ness it brings to the site! xD =P  Site looks like Diagon Alley during rains; Everyone with their Robe-ish Rain Coats!  I wish I had *that* one :P They give Engineers 'Two-Piece' raincoats.
Working in the rain is fun. Especially because of all the #Potter-ness it brings to the site! xD =P Site looks like Diagon Alley during rains; Everyone with their Robe-ish Rain Coats! I wish I had *that* one :P They give Engineers 'Two-Piece' raincoats.

I’ve been stuck at this part of the post for about 3 hours now :\ I can’t seem to explain what I want to tell. It is at times like this that I wish I were a better writer. Anyway, I’m very confused.  At times, I feel like I could do this job forever. Sometimes I wonder if I did the right thing in turning down two 9-5, better paying jobs for a core-job. I really wish my mind would pick one. I’ve never abandoned a post before; I’m going to ‘abandon’ this post here. Of late, I’ve been throwing stones at mango trees in complete darkness. One has hit it’s target. I need one more to hit another target, and most of this.. confusion will be solved :)

your life is your life
don’t let it be clubbed into dank submission.
be on the watch.
there are ways out.
there is a light somewhere.
it may not be much light but
it beats the darkness.
be on the watch.
the gods will offer you chances.
know them.
take them.
you can’t beat death but
you can beat death in life, sometimes.
and the more often you learn to do it,
the more light there will be.
your life is your life.
know it while you have it.
you are marvelous
the gods wait to delight
in you.

~ ‘The Laughing Heart’ – Charles Bukowski

What do you think?

