Setting Hopes, Rising ‘Brilliance’

Greetings,

My Childhood is Over.

Today, something that defined the last nine years of my life – and something that will be remembered for the rest of it – came to an end. The Harry Potter Universe.

On Monday, I will begin a new, more-responsible phase of my life. Work. Job. Career.

This couldn’t have been scripted better. Somewhere between today – Friday – and Monday, My Childhood will die. A pretty late death at that, no?

I’m sad about the Friday Event. But its aftereffects are truly wonderful – Awesome Memories, Awesomer Friendships, Awesomest Alternate Universe – all of which will never die.

(I’m in a weird emotional state. I can’t seem to form coherent sentences. I think I might cry any moment)

The Monday event leaves a trail of destruction in its wake. Don’t get me wrong, I’m super-happy with the job – I’ve given up two better paying out-of-field offers for this one. But Monday also represents the end of hopes of an (immediate) Master’s Degree in the US – something which a good part of my Blog was Bleh-ing on about. I would have been less sad if I had got all rejects. Getting two accepts in the field I so love – Environmental Engineering/Sustainable Development – and then having to turn them down. Heh. Makes it that much worse.

But I am going to try again sometime. I cannot set a deadline right now, but I will try – 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 years later – to get my Master’s Degree, either here or abroad. In all likelihood, if I do continue on my current career path (which begins as Management Trainee and changes to Asst. Project Manager, Project Manager and such), doing an MBA will be more beneficial than an MS to my career. Ah, lots of time left for that. We’ll see :)

Monday also means I will be away from home for most of the week. I’ll be staying at a Residential Training Facility. I haven’t stayed at an hostel before. That will be a first.

I’m :): about Monday. I’m Happy, Sad, Worried, Excited – all at once. I think I’m also mildly apprehensive (Euphemism for Shit Scared =P) :)

(So much incoherence in my thoughts today. I don’t think I’ve used so many paragraphs in a single post before)

Also, I need you to give me a kick up my backside and link me to this post if I’m still working 2, 3, 4, 5 years from now :) Don’t stop kicking until there’s a Dr. before my name. xD :P

I guess all it’s not as bad as I make it out to be. There is still Pottermore. And I will return to studying. I guess I could squeeze in some childhoodness in there somewhere ;)

Every morning in Africa, a Gazelle wakes up.
It knows it must run faster than the fastest lion or it will be killed.
Every morning in Africa, a Lion wakes up.
It knows it must outrun the slowest Gazelle or it will starve to death.
It doesn’t matter whether you are a Lion or a Gazelle.
When the sun comes up, you’d better be running.

~ African Proverb
(Found in The World is Flat, Thomas L. Friedman, pg 137)
I need to ‘start running’ from Monday.
*Bhaag Bhaag from Delhi Belly Playing the the BG* =P

My kids will be brought up on a steady dose of Harry Potter ~ GRE Goddess

In childhood, we press our nose to the pane, looking out. In memories of childhood, we press our nose to the pane, looking in ~ Robert Brault

What we remember from childhood we remember forever – permanent ghosts, stamped, inked, imprinted, eternally seen ~ Cynthia Ozick

EDIT: That guy in the video summed up in 4 Minutes what I took an eternity to write here! xD A+ Dude! This is what I wanted to say –

Link Courtesy –Preethi ( @Siriusly_Preets )

Always.

HPANA and Huh-Paners.
Severus Snape.
Luna Lovegood.
Pune Trio.
You are the best the fandom has given me :)
4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Nishali chand 16 July 2011 — 00:49

    Its monday. The start of a week. The day filled with opportunities so much to look forward. You cant Say this about my favourite day. All the best kid am sure there is loads to look forward to

    Like

  2. :) THE Transition. All the best :)

    Also, I’ll do the job of kicking and poking and pinching you at the end of two years. Don’t you worry! :P

    Like

What do you think?

