A Season of ‘Lasts’ :)

Greetings! :)

I’m FIVE working days away from being a graduate – May 30, June 01, June 03, June 06 and June 15 :D Those are my Sem VIII exam dates. That’s the good news. The slightly less-than-good news is that I still haven’t really decided what to do next.

From the outside, it might look like I’m blessed with a multitude of options. That, sadly, is Apparent. (No, I’m not being ungrateful!)

The admits – Out of the seven US Universities I applied to, I have two accepts and three rejects. Two decisions are awaited. The accepts carry no funding; So I’m (we’re) really finding it tough to gather the required finances. US Uni Dream, anyway, was a lofty ambition for a Pavam Middle Class boy! :P :)

What Timing! Make that four rejects; *Just* received a decision letter from the postman :\

So as of now, Gradmission plans are on hold. :\

The job offers – I currently have three offers; Two from Out-of-my-field Mass Recruiters and One from my field – Civil Engineering. The good thing about the Software firms is that I’ve both the offer letters and one of the joining dates and location. That is the *only* confirmed plan as of now. The Largest Satisfaction-Offering (And incidentally, Largest Pay-Package Offering :P) firm is the core company. The dark side of this? The offer is Verbal. Only half-a-dozen of the 37 verbally accepted have got offer letters. Apparently, the policy they follow is Absorb-on-Need basis. So if I choose this option, I might end up with a terribly long wait, or worse, wait in vain :\

So, Heh.

Weirdly, I’m not worried. Yet. :P

I thought I’d write this post, because everyone keeps asking when I’m leaving for the USA! :P :)

Right now, I’m going to focus on my exams and enjoy all the Lasts. ;) Last Practical Exam happened during the previous Semester. This Semester saw the Last Internal Test (IA Test #146! :D :P), Last Working Day, Farewell etc.. :) I’m going to finish the pending minor work on my project report today and organize my textbooks and stuff for the exams. Then slowly start getting into exam mode from tomorrow. Or That’s the plan at least :P

These last set of exams have crept up on us like Ninjas! :P We usually get at least 2 or 3 weeks of Preparatory Leave. We have a week’s time, this semester.

When it comes to the future, there are three kinds of people: those who let it happen, those who make it happen, and those who wonder what happened ~ John M. Richardson, Jr.

That quote scares me! 0_0 I’m not sure where I fall. It’s not that I haven’t worked as hard as I can :(

I never think of the future. It comes soon enough ~ Albert Einstein

If the genius wasn’t worried, why should I?! :P :) This post, I think now, was more to reassure myself than anything else! :)

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. A Pavam Middle Class Boy should look for a government job! nothing else! :P

    Like

  2. Try for Indian Foreign Service too. real exciting.

    Like

What do you think?

