Banana Wars! :P

Greetings! :)

Don’t you just love it when you come across things from the past unexpectedly and it brings you an avalanche of memories? I found this, a ‘poem’ I wrote sometime in 2006. Read it first, I shall tell you the back-story. Trust me, you’re going to need the story to make sense of it :P

Who’s Got the Banana?!

Nana Nana Nana Na!
Who’s got the banana?
Nana Nana Nana Na!
I’ve got the banana!!

Mr. Sophie, Musa, Noonoo and Nana,
Few avatars of our little banana,
The banana, on Huh-pana,
The banana, on Huh-pana!

Shaki’s Prince and the Caribbean Princess,
And Dee, Maddy, Soundi & Other Huh-paners,
Go crazy over the cool Naners,
The Naners, of Huh-paners,
The Naners, of Huh-paners!

Nana Nana Nana Na!
Who’s got the banana?
Nana Nana Nana Na!
I’ve got the banana!!

Not for long have I you Nana,
Coz the Nana-nappers wanna
Take you from Me, Oh No!
But I’ll save you, I’ll save you Nana!

Nana Nana Nana Na!
Who’s got the banana?
Nana Nana Nana Na!
I’ve got my Nana Ha!

:D

(EDIT: 01 March 2012 – I’ve filed this under a new category, Fiction & Poetry. I think every dead poet turned in their grave for calling this ‘Poetry’ =P)

Oh how I would love to see that discombobulated look on your face now :P Here’s a little background information on that ‘poem’.

The Harry Potter Automatic News Aggregator or HPANA is, as quite evident from the name, a Harry Potter fan site. I joined the HPANA forums in August of 2005, the peak period of my Harry Potter obsession. There, in Madam Puddifoot’s (the under-16 forum), there was this game – The Banana Game. The objective of the game was to gain possession of the beloved Banana a.k.a Nana! :D You gain possession by being the last person to post in that game thread – a variation of the better known Last Person to Post Wins kinda games. Here, in addition to having wonderfully pointless conversations, you get to fight for Nana :P (Trust me, it was BIG thing for 16-year-old HPANA fans :P :D)

I used to like writing rhyming things. So instead of just saying “Nana’s mine” or “I take Nana!”, I added this little phrase to the bottom of my posts –

Nana Nana Nana Na!
Who’s got the banana?
Nana Nana Nana Na!
I’ve got the banana!!

And that is how it all started :P The third stanza mentions some of the regular Banana-ers on that thread.

Impulse Blogpost, this :)

Ah. I had written a 14 stanza Harry Potter poem as well. I lost that :| I didn’t really get time to pack-up when they sent me off from HPANA :\

Much Ado About Nothing LogoSigh. I miss being a silly stupid 16-year-old crazy Harry Potter/HPANA fan.

Trivia – This poem was adopted as the Official Anthem of the Banana Game! XD :P

Everyone thinks they’re going to write one book of poems or one novel ~ Marilyn Hacker

You don’t have to suffer to be a poet; adolescence is enough suffering for anyone ~ John Ciardi

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. very cute :) you sound like one those little kids who dream to become rappers :P i bet Eminem started out like this when he was 13 :P

    Like

  2. GRE Goddess :P 15 March 2011 — 09:08

    I miss being a silly stupid 16-year-old crazy Harry Potter/HPANA fan too!

    Like

  3. Yo man, will you ever update??!

    Like

  4. The Blog? With two posts, this has been one of the busier months! :P

    Like

What do you think?

