The One After a Very Long Time :P

Greetings! :)

Shyaa! I am very upset by the fact that I have not blogged in February. Why? Because now, on the right of your screen, you’ll find no February in the archives and then the list won’t really be in order and… Yeah, very OCD-ish, Me :P

When out of things to write about, lists are the easiest to do :P So here is my *fourth* list-based post, the third in a row. This time, I’m going to list out some of my favourites in one of my favourite topics (:P) – TV Advertisements! I like some TV ads as much as TV shows itself ;) Dad works for Ogilvy & Mather Advertising – One of the leading Ad Agencies in India. Visits to his office since as long as I can remember and related stuff induced a fascination for ads in me. And Indian Ads are some of the most creative in the world – Thanks to the awesomeness of Super-Creative Directors & Agencies India is blessed with _/\_ .  So here are Seven of my favourite ads – in no particular order of fondness and selected completely randomly – based on the ads that I can think of now :)

I’m leaving out the Vodafone Pug & Zoozoos, the Fevicol Ads and other such ads because, if I include them, then I can’t make room for anything else even if the list is around 25 ads long :P

(Hoping you have an unlimited broadband plan :P)

  • Kerala Tourism – “Your Moment is Waiting; Agency – Stark Communications; Production House – Nirvana Films; Director – Prakash Varma

One of my MOST favourite Ad this. It’s had its fair share of criticism for plagiarism. I’ve seen the ad from which this is been alleged to have been plagiarized from. I’m not going to defend the agency or support the criticizers; I’m just going to say, from personal experience, the line between inspiration and plagiarism is a very thin, blurry and dangerous line ;)

Related Articles – http://bit.ly/fbeNOm and http://bit.ly/fxV4OS

Psst… I’ve always wanted to do that to an Elephant, what that lady does in the end ;) :)


  • Bajaj Avenger – “Feel Like God”; Agency – Lowe;

There’s something about this ad that makes it nice to watch :)

 

  • Camlin Permanent Marker – “Rudali”; Agency – Lowe Mumbai; Directors – Anand, Arun Iyer, Abhinay Deo

Making comedy out of death is a tricky and difficult. If not done rightly, it can be disastrous. This one.. Have a look.. ;) :)

 

  • Sprite – “Tu Sprite Pee, Sprite”; Agency – Ogilvy & Mather;

I don’t know if many of you think this deserves to be on this list, I love it for the way she says Of Course (0:37) <3 XD How bloody awesome is that accent! :D The other ads in this campaign is also Zuper! :)

 

  • Lead India 2 – “Tree”; Agency – JWT;

Very Inspiring, No? :) 0:36 – Doesn’t that feel like a spear just went through your heart?!

 

  • Vodafone Essar – “Blackberry Boys”; Agency – Ogilvy & Mather; Production House – Nirvana Films

Sucha Sing-along tune it has! :D Reminds me of church songs :P Fun! Speaking of Vodafone, the Zoozoos – It’s from O&M. Awesomeness, O&M is. (If O&M HRD is reading, I’d like a job Pliss :P :D ;) )

And the last one. This campaign is currently running on TV. This never Fails to make me smile/laugh! XD

 

  • TVS Wego – “Body Balance’; Agency – BBH India; Agency Team – Russell Barrett, Arvind Krishnan, Sanjay Sharma, Monideepa Nandi, Sunder Iyer, Darshan Choudhari, Shabbir Motiwala, Hitesh Kalia;

So That’s Seven Random Commercials I like very much. Here’s a Bonus Video :P – I found this while searching for another video for Athu. This video is dedicated to her Japanese Heritage :P

0:07 <3 Cute, No? :P

A viewer who skips the advertising is the moral equivalent of a shoplifter ~ Nicholas Johnson

What is the difference between unethical and ethical advertising?  Unethical advertising uses falsehoods to deceive the public; ethical advertising uses truth to deceive the public.  ~Vilhjalmur Stefansson (For the Advertising-Makes-You-Buy-Things-You-Don’t-Need People :P)

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. The indian railway ad, The upar cut ad?
    Those two are my favorites.

    Like

  2. Heeeee awww the Miyazawa Rei CM XD In Japan, Kit Kats are considered to be good luck charms (sort of) because “Kitto Katto” sounds like “Kitto Katsu” (きっとかつ idk the right kanji >_>;;) which means “to certainly win” or “good things will happen” etc. Japan has like… cheese-flavour and red bean-flavour Kit Kats. They’re a strange country XD

    On the topic of ads, that tree one made me tear up. <3

    And this is my absolute favourite ever: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N6aUTHYGSt4

    I actually have a bunch I like. I should make a list someday too ;)

    Loved the post! <3

    Like

What do you think?

