Third Time Lucky?

Greetings Fellow Earthlings,

Mrs. Avis J. Pothan, My High School English Teacher, taught us that a good article or speech should always begin with an impressive quote. Apparently, It helps in capturing the attention of the reader or listener up front. Let’s try it, shall we? :) And Who better to quote than a man who pretty much ruled the world all through my teenage years ~

What I am against is quotas. I am against hard quotas, quotas they basically delineate based upon whatever. However they delineate, quotas, I think, vulcanize society. So I don’t know how that fits into what everybody else is saying, their relative positions, but that’s my position ~ George W Bush

Nice. No matter what I write from now on, I will always make more sense than George W Bush did in that statement :P

This is my third blog in three years. Both of my previous blogs lasted one post :\ Something always keeps me busy for a long time soon after my first post and I forget that I started a blog. Will this be Third Time Lucky?

By the way, did you know that the phrase ‘Third Time Lucky’ alludes to the belief that, under English law, anyone who survived three attempts at hanging would be set free? This is probably from the story of John Lee. Lee was a  sailor who was convicted of murder. He was sentenced to hang and three attempts to execute him all failed. His Death sentence was commuted to life imprisonment and Lee was later freed. He was known thereafter as ‘the man they couldn’t hang’ and went on to live a long life, dying sometime in the 1940s

I’ve always enjoyed writing. Writing Class-Notes, Messages, E-mails, writing anything is fun. If I don’t write something for sometime, I feel weird :\ I decided to give blogging another try to satisfy my ‘urge to write’ :P. Especially in the current scenario, where two of my online friends who I write to a lot are both busy and do not have the time to read my kazillion-lettered Facebook Inbox Messages. While Sarah is  busy with work and studies, the other, Ms. Cheetah Fairy, is pretty notorious for not replying in time to texts or messages. I really hope I don’t find myself in a situation where I might have to depend on a text to Seema for help ~

‘August 8, 2010 ~ Seema! Help, I’m being kidnapped by Aliens who want to take me back to my twin home planets of ‘Dyslexia-Narcissia’  (In-joke :P)

August 9, 2011 ~ Oh No! Wait, I’ll come now. Where are you?’ :P :)

I’ve wanted to start blogging again for some time now. I kept pushing it for later. The ‘kick’ to write this finally came today, as a result of me not being able to speak for the last three days. I’ve injured my tongue :\ It hurts when I speak. No Class since Friday 11 am. No Speech since Friday. I had to write something to keep me from going insane :P Earlier, Whenever there was an ‘urge’ to write, I used to write Notes on Facebook. There are two such notes on my Facebook account, This and That :P As with the notes and messages, all I need for my ‘satisfaction’ is for just one person to read it. I’m pretty sure at least two people will read this, Pallav Deb, the sole ‘adorer’ of my writing :P, and Seema Singh, who is scheduled to read this blog on December 3, 2017 :\

Much Ado About Nothing LogoWhile Mrs. Pothan advised us to start of with an ‘impressive’ quote, I’ve always ended my articles with a nice quote. So here’s one to make you smile and think at the same time,

We could learn a lot from Crayons; some are Sharp, some are Pretty, some are Dull, while others Bright, some have Weird Names, but they all have learned to live together in the Same Box ~ Robert Fulghum

PS : I don’t like the smilies on this page :\ I don’t like image-smilies. I like the text version. I don’t think I can turn them off. I should get used to it :\

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Heyy Felix!
    Well i guess your new blog has a third reader now! :)
    I like your post. I think our high school teacher Mrs. Avis Pothan would’ve liked it too! :D
    Keep blogging bro!
    Cheers!

    Like

  2. I get a mention! :D this makes this post an automatic success! :P
    no, seriously, nice post!
    sorry for the late reply, but it was impossible commenting through the mobile.
    my blog died too. i just cant understand how ppl continue to have such great blogs for so long!
    anyways, best of lucks, Cat.
    looking forward to more!
    P

    Like

What do you think?

